Das Unternehmen

Geschichte

WABAG – ein junges Unternehmen mit langjähriger Erfahrung.

Gestern. Heute. Morgen.

Die VA TECH WABAG GmbH ging 1999 aus dem Zusammenschluss der Wassertechniksparten des VA TECHNOLOGIE-Konzerns und der DEUTSCHEN BABCOCK hervor. Die Marke WABAG besteht jedoch bereits seit 1924, als Max Reder die WABAG Wasserfilter-Bau in Breslau gründete. Eine der Wurzeln der heutigen WABAG reicht sogar bis ins Jahr 1868 zur Wiener Firma Julius Overhoff, die schon in den 1930er-Jahren mit ihren Wasseraufbereitungsaktivitäten erfolgreich war und 1987 in die österreichische SGP AG integriert wurde. Als 1999 die VA TECH WABAG entstand avancierte sie zu einem Global Player auf dem Sektor der Wasser- und Abwassertechnik mit einem weltweiten Netzwerk an Geschäftseinheiten und einem umfassenden Produktportfolio. Nach einer mehrjährigen Konsolidierungsphase und Eigentümerwechsel präsentiert sich WABAG heute als internationaler Player in Schwerpunktmärkten. Mit dem erfolgreichen Börsegang der VA TECH WABAG Ltd. im Oktober 2010 in Indien hat das Unternehmen einen weiteren Meilenstein in seiner Geschichte geschrieben.

Die durchaus bewegte Geschichte zeigt, dass internationales Denken und Handeln sowie eine kontinuierliche Know-how-Erweiterung die Voraussetzungen für erfolgreiche Entwicklung und globale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sind. In diesem Sinne werden wir auch morgen der beste Partner für unsere Kunden sein.

Dynamik und Tradition.

Diese Ansprüche waren und sind für uns keine Gegensätze sondern wesentliche Erfolgsfaktoren. Werte, die dazu beitragen, langjährige Erfahrung und modernes Know-how optimal im Sinne der Kunden einzusetzen. Die Konzentration auf Kernkompetenzen und die Fokussierung auf strategische Märkte mit hohem Potenzial sind somit unser und Ihr Garant für höchste Qualität und optimale Lösungen.

Wer aufhört, besser zu werden, hat aufgehört, gut zu sein.

Meilensteine:

1868 Gründung der Firma Julius Overhoff in Wien.
1924 Gründung WABAG Wasserfilter-Bau in Breslau.
1930 Julius Overhoff startet Wasseraufbereitungsgeschäft in Österreich.
1973 DEUTSCHE BABCOCK wird Mehrheitseigentümer der WABAG.
1986/87 DEUTSCHE BABCOCK übernimmt WABAG zu 100%.Simmering Graz Pauker (SGP) AG übernimmt die Overhoff GmbH.
1989 Der Energie- und Umwelttechnik-Bereich der SGP AG fusioniert mit der VA Finalindustrie zur SGP VA Energie- und Umwelttechnik.
1991 WABAG Leipzig wird als 100%ige Tochter der WABAG Kulmbach gegründet.
1992 SGP VA Energie- und Umwelttechnik und der Energie- und Umwelttechnik-Bereich der Waagner Biro AG fusionieren zum größten Energie- und Umwelttechnikunternehmen Österreichs, der Austrian Energy & Environment SGP/Waagner Biro GmbH.
1993 Niederlassung WABAG Salzburg
1994 Gründung WABAG Brünn.
1995 WABAG Kulmbach erwirbt die britische WATER ENGINEERING LTD. und das belgische Unternehmen STEP mit dessen Niederlassung Tunesien und beteiligt sich an der AEW ESMIL. Über die BALCKE-DÜRR AND WATER TECHNOLOGIES LTD. wird die Präsenz in Indien aufgebaut.
1996 Austrian Energy übernimmt Tetra Industrietechnik und die Umweltaktivitäten der Sulzer Chemtech AG
1997 Austrian Energy übernimmt den Bereich Umkehrosmose-Entsalzung der Elin Energieversorgung sowie 70% der PURAQUA-Anteile der Energie Steiermark.
1999 VA TECH/Austrian Energy übernimmt die restlichen 30% PURAQUA-Anteile von Energie Steiermark sowie die WABAG-Gruppe von der DEUTSCHEN BABCOCK AG. Als Rechtsnachfolgerin der Austrian Energy & Environment steht die neue VA TECH WABAG GmbH zu 100% im Eigentum der VA TECHNOLOGIE AG.
2004/05 Die VA TECH ELIN EBG übernimmt die industrielle Führung der VA TECH WABAG. Im Rahmen des Restrukturierungsprozesses werden ausländische Niederlassungen und Beteiligungen, die nicht der Fokussierungsstrategie auf Kernkompetenzen und Zielmärkten entsprechen (v.a. die Geschäftseinheiten in Deutschland und Frankreich), veräußert bzw. stillgelegt.
2005 Verkauf der VA TECH WABAG India Ltd.: Management Buyout mit Beteiligung von ICICI Venture, Tochtergesellschaft der größten indischen Privatbank, der ICICI Bank.
2005 Durch den Zusammenschluss von VA TECHNOLOGIE AG und SIEMENS wird die VA TECH WABAG GmbH Teil des SIEMENS-Konzerns.
2007 VA TECH WABAG India Ltd. mit Sitz in Chennai übernimmt 100% der Anteile an der VA TECH WABAG GmbH von Siemens. Durch die Wiedervereinigung der beiden Gesellschaften avanciert die neue WABAG Gruppe zu einem bedeutenden Player in der Wassertechnik-Branche mit rund 1.000 Mitarbeitern an weltweit 18 Standorten.
2008 Gründung der WABAG Water Services SRL in Rumänien und der WABAG Water Services (Macao) Limited.
2009 Gründung einer Tochtergesellschaft in China – „Beijing VA TECH WABAG Water Treatment Technology Co., Ltd.”
2010 Gründung der WABAG Türkei in Istanbul: VA TECH WABAG SU TEKNOLOJÝSÝ VE TÝCARET LÝMÝTED ÞÝRKET
2010 VA TECH WABAG Ltd. geht an die Börse:
22.9.2010: Start IPO (Initial Public Offering) in Indien.
13.10.2010: Erstnotierung der WABAG Aktien an der National Stock Exchange of India.
2010 Gründung der VA TECH WABAG Egypt LLC, Kairo
2011 Gründung der VA TECH WABAG (Philippines) Inc., Makati City
2013 Gründung der VA TECH WABAG (Spain) S.L, Madrid
2014 Erfolgreicher Markteintritt in Tansania: 40 Mio. US$-Auftrag für 130 MLD Upper Ruvu Water Treatment Plant

 

sustainable solutions. for a better life

The Company

History

WABAG – a young company with long-term experience.

Yesterday. Today. Tomorrow.

VA TECH WABAG GmbH resulted from the merger in 1999 of the water technology segment of the VA TECHNOLOGIE Group with that of DEUTSCHE BABCOCK. However, the WABAG brand actually dates back to 1924, when Max Reder founded the WABAG Wasserfilter-Bau in Breslau. Moreover, one of the tap roots of the current WABAG extends to the year 1868 and the founding of the Viennese company, Julius Overhoff, which was highly successful with its water treatment activities in the 1930s and in 1987, was integrated into the Austrian SGP AG. The emergence of VA TECH WABAG in 1999 marked the company’s transformation into a global player in the water and wastewater treatment sector with a global network of business units and a comprehensive product portfolio. Following a period of consolidation and change of ownership, WABAG is now active as an international player in key markets. Moreover, in October 2010, the company achieved another milestone in its history with the successful IPO in India of VA TECH WABAG Ltd..

This relatively turbulent history serves to demonstrate that international thought and action, as well as the ongoing acquisition of know-how, represent prerequisites for successful development and global competitiveness. Accordingly, we also wish to be the best possible partner for our customers in years to come.

Dynamism and tradition.

For us, these characteristics are not contradictory, but rather major factors for success. They constitute values that contribute to the optimum implementation of long-term experience and state of the art know-how to the benefit of our customers. Thus the focus on core competences and high-potential, strategic markets constitutes both your and our guarantee of top quality and perfect solutions.

Those that cease to improve, cease to be good.

Milestones:

1868 Foundation of the Julius Overhoff company in Vienna.
1924 Foundation of WABAG Wasserfilter-Bau in Breslau.
1930 Julius Overhoff launches its water treatment business in Austria.
1973 DEUTSCHE BABCOCK becomes WABAG’s majority shareholder.
1986/87 DEUTSCHE BABCOCK takes over WABAG in its entirety. Simmering Graz Pauker (SGP) AG takes over Overhoff GmbH.
1989 The Energy and Environmental Technology Division of SGP AG merges with VA Finalindustrie to form SGP VA Energie- und Umwelttechnik.
1991 WABAG Leipzig is founded as a fully-owned subsidiary of WABAG Kulmbach.
1992 SGP VA Energie- und Umwelttechnik and the Environmental Technology Division of Waagner Biro AG merge to form Austria’s largest energy and environmental technology company, Austrian Energy & Environment SGP/Waagner Biro GmbH.
1993 WABAG Salzburg branch founded.
1994 WABAG Brno founded.
1995 WABAG Kulmbach purchases the British company, WATER ENGINEERING LTD. and the Belgian company, STEP, with its branch in Tunisia, and also takes an interest in AEW ESMIL. A presence in India is created via BALCKE-DÜRR AND WATER TECHNOLOGIES LTD.
1996 Austrian Energy takes over Tetra Industrietechnik and the environmental activities of Sulzer Chemtech AG.
1997 Austrian Energy takes over the reverse osmosis desalination segment of Elin Energieversorgung, as well as 70% of the PURAQUA shares of Energie Steiermark.
1999 VA TECH/Austrian Energy purchases the remaining 30% PURAQUA shares of Energie Steiermark, as well as the WABAG Group from DEUTSCHEN BABCOCK AG. As the legal successor to Austrian Energy & Environment, the new VA TECH WABAG GmbH is fully owned by VA TECHNOLOGIE AG.
2004/05 VA TECH ELIN EBG assumes the industrial management of VA TECH WABAG. In the course of a restructuring process, international branches and holdings not corresponding to the strategy of focusing on core competences and core market regions (above all business units in Germany and France) are sold off or shut down.
2005 As a result of the merger between VA TECHNOLOGIE AG and SIEMENS, VA TECH WABAG GmbH becomes part of the SIEMENS Group.
2005 Sale of VA TECH WABAG India Ltd.: Management buyout together with ICICI Venture, a subsidiary of the ICICI bank, India’s largest private banking institution.
2007 On November 6, 2007 Siemens  sold all its stock in its fully owned subsidiary, VA TECH WABAG GmbH, Vienna to the Chennai-based VA TECH WABAG India Ltd. The reunification of the two WABAG companies means that with the new WABAG Group a significant player has emerged in the water technology with a workforce of around 1,500 at 18 locations around the world.
2008 Foundation of WABAG Water Services SRL in Romania and WABAG Water Services Limited in Macao.
2009 Foundation of a WABAG subsidiary in the PR China: “Beijing VA TECH WABAG Water Treatment Technology Co., Ltd.”
2010 Foundation of a WABAG subsidiary in Istanbul, Turkey: VA TECH WABAG SU TEKNOLOJÝSÝ VE TÝCARET LÝMÝTED ÞÝRKET
2010 VA TECH WABAG Ltd. goes public:
22.9.2010: Start of IPO (Initial Public Offering) in India.
13.10.2010: Listing of the WABAG shares on National Stock Exchange.
2010

2011

2013

2014

Foundation of VA TECH WABAG Egypt LLC, Cairo

Foundation of VA TECH WABAG (Philippines) Inc., Makati City

Foundation of VA TECH WABAG (Spain), S.L., Madrid

WABAG entering into a new market: first order in Tanzania: 130 MLD Upper Ruvu Water Treatment Plant, 40 Mio. US$

 

sustainable solutions. for a better life